The Cardinals’ Song

cardinals

Winter still has a grip on Minnesota, even though the calendar says it’s spring.

My hope that this winter will soon end comes in the early morning song of a pair of cardinals, which drew me from my bed long before the dawn.   

The birds are in full concert, and beginning their spring dance.  It is time to prepare the nest, then deliver the fragile, luminescent eggs.  Downy, chirping chicks, the fulfillment of today’s song, cannot be far away.  

My gardening catalogs are stacked, unopened, on the kitchen counter. Perhaps I should cast off my fleece blanket and begin making preparations.  

As the cardinals’ song promises, spring will soon overtake what feels like an endless winter.  

Leave a Reply

