Bad Days Come… And Go!

Those who have had to deal with Medicare billing issues know what hell on earth is.  I visited there, briefly, again, last Friday. 

A few weeks ago, I spent countless hours on the phone to get daughter Shaina’s Part D (drug) coverage figured out.  On Friday, I made a call to Medicare to confirm what I needed to have our pharmacy do to access temporary coverage she has until October 1, when her new coverage kicks in, so I could fill a needed prescription.

On my first solo outing since surgery, I drove to our nearby Walgreens before starting dinner for Bruce, who was due to come home from two days on the road.  First delay came when I learned Shaina’s prescription was at a different pharmacy 10 miles away (a clinic error), so we had to call and get an OK to release that prescription so Walgreens could fill it again.   Then they filled our prescription, which the doctor wrote for a 90 day supply, and Medicare will only pay for 30 days, so they had to redo it.  Finally Medicare (and all other carriers) refused payment.  The other insurance companies said she had Medicare Part D, and Medicare said she wasn’t insured.  

Argghhhhh!!!! 7:05 p.m.  We headed for home, no prescription in hand, no dinner in our bellies and no pain meds in my system.  I had decided to walk away until the next morning, bile in my mouth and anger stuck in my craw.  I was exhausted, defeated, in pain and in tears.  We rounded the corner, just as the last of the setting sun left the horizon and the heavens suddenly lit up with an amazing purple-orange hue that has no earthly equal.  I was once again reminded God is on His throne and all is right with the world. 

My soul was quieted and in an instant the last two hours no longer mattered.

As we rounded the next corner, I could see Bruce’s car was in the driveway.  He greeted me with a hug and kiss and told me he had missed me, and I realized it had been a very good day indeed. 

I went to bed without worry, and with complete joy.   Tomorrow (sigh…) would come soon enough!

One thought on “Bad Days Come… And Go!

  1. Vicki – your last name is a very apt description of the kind of person you are. God has given you so much strength. You have been a blessing to so many people. God loves you and so do I. vicki

Leave a Reply

